JOHN WARREN

District Attorney 101 S. Dixon St. Third Floor Gainesville, TX 76240 (940) 668-5466



EDMUND J. ZIELINSKI

County Attorney 101 S. Dixon St. Ground Floor Gainesville, TX 76240 (940) 668-5459

HOT CHECKS

General Guidelines

- Checks \$2,499 and under will be presented to the County Attorney's Office for processing
- Checks \$2,500 and over will be presented to the District Attorney's Office for processing.

Hot Checks that cannot be accepted as a General Rule:

- 1. Post Dated or Stop Payment Checks.
- 2. Old Checks upon the statute of limitations has run out.
- 3. Checks given in return for a check.
- 4. Checks in which you cannot provide the name of a witness (example: clerk who accepted the check).
- 5. Checks returned "NSF" on which no certified notice has been sent.
- 6. Checks presented outside Cooke County or for services performed outside Cooke County.
- 7. Checks presented in payment of debts, loans or charge accounts.
- 8. Checks where no property or services were given immediate exchange.
- 9. Forged or altered checks. These are forgery cases that should be filed with the Local Law Enforcement Agency.
- 10. Checks received through the mail.
- 11. Checks not presented to the bank within 30 days from the date written.
- 12. Checks given in furtherance of illegal activity.

If you accepted one of the types of checks listed above you might have certain remedies available to you under the Civil Laws of Texas. You will need to consult with an attorney.

Procedures for filing a Hot Check

- 1. The check must be presented to the bank within 30 days of the date of issuance, even if it is known that the check will not be honored.
- 2. Notice must be given to the check writer that the check was not honored as well as the reason why it was not honored. The notice must also include a demand for payment within ten business days of receipt of the notice letter.
- 3. The notice must be sent by registered or certified mail with proof of receipt requested.
- 4. If the check is not paid within 10 business days after the notice is received then it may be brought to the District or County Attorney's Office for filing.

"NSF" or "STOP PAYMENT" -If a check is returned to you marked NSF (non-sufficient funds or stop payment):

- 1. You must send a certified letter, return receipt requested to the maker, demanding payment.
- 2. This letter MUST contain the language of the Texas Penal Code§ 31.06 (b)(3) (If you don't have a copy, please contact our office.)
- 3. Either a signed green card, or the unopened envelope (please DO NOT open it) will be returned to you.
- 4. 15 days after the date you sent the letter, bring or mail to the respective office the following:
 - a. The check (original or copy received from the bank, along with documentation from the bank regarding deposit).
 - b. A completed "Worthless Check Information and Affidavit"
 - c. A copy of the letter sent.
 - d. The unopened envelope or the signed green card (certified mail receipt).

ACCOUNT CLOSED - If the check is returned to you marked account closed:

a. Mail or bring to our office the check (and documentation from your bank) and the completed worthless check and information affidavit, ONLY.

The respective office will attempt to obtain payment from the check writer.

If payment is received it will be returned to you after the proper channels and procedures are followed (approximately 2 weeks).

If payment is not received and the case meets the elements of the offense the case can proceed criminally and a warrant issued for the arrest of the check writer, payment can possibly be made after this point and a criminal case dismissed, it is up to the discretion of the office.

Once you turn a check into this office, DO NOT ACCEPT ANY PAYMENT on the check, but direct the person attempting to make payment to our office.

If you accept the money owed to you, you are responsible for paying the processing fee that is usually collected from the check writer.

Thank you and if you have any questions please contact one of our offices and we will be glad to assist you.

John Warren

John Warren

District Attorney

Edmund J. Zielinski

Edmund J. Zielinski

County Attorney

COOKE COUNTY DISTRICT AND COUNTY ATTORNEY'S OFFICE

Worthless Check Information and Affidavit

		er being duly swo					
to believe and d	o believe that	nse of theft by pa	(Nan	ne of person origi	nally writing che	cks(s)) hereinaft	er called
		oleted information			ei is daseu on in	le following facts	as
	proprietory comp		TS ABOUT THI				
DI #.		<u></u>		<u> </u>			
Description: Se	x. Bace.	State: Height:	DOB:	SSIN: Hair: F	N66.		
Home Address:	r\ace	r reight(vveignt Citv:	riaii State:	Zip:	_	
Phone #: () -	C Business Ac	Idress or Emplo	yer:			
City:	State	e: Zip:	Phone #: (_)			
		FAC	TS ABOUT TH	E CHECK(S)			
Was check(s) pr	resented to bank	within 30 days of	receipt?				
Did accused del	liver the check(s)	in person?					
If not, who did?							
CHECK#	DATE	AMOUNT OF		CAN HE/SHE	DATE	REASON	
	WRITTEN	CHECK	WHO TOOK	IDENTIFY	RETURNED	RETURNED	
			CHECK	WRITER IN COURT	BY BANK	FROM BANK	
				COURT			_
							=
							_
(Attach addition	al sheets if neces	ssary, with all of th	ne above inform	ı ation on each che	eck. same to be	incorporated her	ein.
under oath, for a	all purposes.)	•				·	
		\$					#, DOB,
or SSN), by che	ck writers in exch	nange for acceptir	ng their check?				
		<u>01</u>	HER PERTINE	NT FACTS			
Restitution colle	cted should be s	ent to:City: _					
Address:		City: _		State:	Zip:	Phor	ne #:
()	ulinformentino ele						
•		out this case:					
-		e above informa			•	-	
		County, Texas; th been good whe					
		eived said check					Salu
1 //		f of the holder; I	. ,	• •	•	•	or the
accused who n	nay be placed in	ı jail.		_			
						Afficiat (Com	- Indiana d
SUBSCRIBED A	AND SWORN to	before me on this	day o	f	20	Affiant (Com	piairiarit
			day 0		, 20	·	
(SEAL)							
				NOTA	RY PUBLIC in a	and for the State	of Texas

Date:			
То:			
This letter gi	ves you official notice	in accordance with Tex Bank/Credit	as Penal Code Sec. 31.06 that the check on your Union, in the amount of \$
dated		has been returned to me	Union, in the amount of \$by this bank for the below marked reason:
notic refer Thi on to not fail	e, the failure to pay of red for criminal prosons is a demand for a clause the check or order. If return the property we are to pay or return the	reates a presumption for cution. eck or order not paid become fail to make payment thin 10 days after the days.	all within 10 days after the date of receipt of this recommitting an offense, and this matter may be cause of a stop payment placed at in full within 10 days or you do atte of receipt of this notice, the sumption for committing an nal prosecution.
As Authorize	d by Art. 9022 Verno	n's Civil Statues you ov	ve an additional \$30.00 Processing fee.
TOTAL AM	OUNT DUE:		
			Very truly yours,
Mail restituti	on to:		